Day 1: How Do I Reach These Keeeeds?

Of course we have a few rambunctious ones, but for the most part, these are good kids. They are all at the age where they do things and don’t really notice the repercussions of them. It can be horrifying and hilarious all in the same 30 second. I find myself listening to every word they say, just so I can make sure they aren’t being little jerks without realizing it, but all has been well so far. It’s pretty awesome, this age bracket, due to their minds still being able to mold and shape and form new opinions. They aren’t settled in their likes and dislikes yet. They can still experience things with an open mind.

The dynamics of the group are awesome and unpredictable at times. We have a few kids that want to be the center of attention, and of course you get attention by being loud. On the other hand, we have some really quiet ones that have opinions and plenty of them, but never get a chance to even talk in a discussion unless you quiet everyone else first. One of the goals of this class is to get everyone out of their element and make followers into leaders, and teach the leaders to stand down every once in awhile.

I don’t know if it was the whole not getting enough sleep or what, but day one was completely mentally draining. I’m about halfway done with day two and I feel the same way, even though I got enough sleep and actually ate breakfast this time. I think it might just be that dealing with energetic people for 5 hours a day makes me exhausted, in a good way of course.

This is really fun, and I can already see how kids are going to better themselves from it. I can’t wait to see what it’s like as the days go by.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

